Cycling: Rui Costa bags the second stage of the Tour de France

Cycling: Rui Costa bags the second stage of the Tour de France

After having won in Gap three days ago, the Portuguese cyclist Rui Costa secured his second stage win of the Tour De France race on Friday, in a copycat of Joaquim Agostinho’s win in 1969.

Portuguese cyclist: Costa wins stage 16 of Tour de France

Rui Costa said Tuesday was a “perfect day” after winning stage 16 of the 100th edition of the Tour de France bicycle race.

Justice: Former Benfica ´club chairman sentenced to a decade in prison

João Vale e Azevedo was on Tuesday sentenced by a Lisbon court to ten years in prison for undue appropriation of more than €4m from the club, money laundering, abuse of trust and forgery.

Wimbledon: Michelle de Brito shocks Sharapova in the second round

The 20-year-old Portuguese tennis player ousted the world’s number 3 in two sets, 6-3, 6-4.

World Cup: Portugal defeats Russia, takes group lead

Hélder Postiga’s sole goal was crucial to keep qualifying hopes intact. Cristiano Ronaldo was a constant threat, but the winger failed to overcome Russian keeper Igor Akinfeev.

Portuguese Cup: Guimarães wins first trophy, upsets Benfica

Vitória de Guimarães scored twice in the last 15 minutes, overcoming Benfica’s first-half goal.

Football: Porto celebrates title after win at Paços de Ferreira

Despite Benfica’s win over Moreirense, the ‘Dragões’ secured the Championship on the final matchday.

Europa League: Benfica loses final as Chelsea grabs last minute glory

The Portuguese created several chances but failed in key defensive plays, falling prey to Chelsea’s craftiness.

Football: Porto takes lead from Benfica with last-gasp effort

With one match to go, FC Porto is poised to celebrate the Championship with a win over Paços de Ferreira, which has already qualified for the UEFA Champions League.

Football: Estoril shock Benfica; race for title gets hotter

League leaders Benfica will visit FC Porto with a two point lead, in a match that may determine this year’s champions.